

**Blount County Government** 

# **Meeting Minutes - Draft**

# **Board of Commissioners**

1-A Jessica Hannah 865-978-7049 jhannah@blounttn.org 1-B Earl McMahan 865-216-3160 emcmahan@blounttn.org 2-A Mike Akard 865-982-6369 makard@blounttn.org 2-B Dyran Bledsoe 865-806-7091 dbledsoe@blounttn.org 3-A Scott King 865-455-7335 sking@blounttn.org 3-B Mike Caylor 865-323-3143 mcaylor@blounttn.org 4-A Robbie Bennett 865-806-8869 rbennett@blounttn.org 4-B Dawn Reagan 865-567-5415 dreagan@blounttn.org 4-C John Giles 865-250-0438 jgiles@blounttn.org 5-A Jared Anderson 865-272-9455 janderson@blounttn.org 5-B Rick Carver 865-964-9945 rcarver@blounttn.org 6-A Nick Bright 865-254-0637 nbright@blounttn.org 6-B Misty Davis 865-363-1001 mddavis@blounttn.org 7-A Quentin Caldwell 865-603-3922 qcaldwell@blounttn.org 7-B Staci Martin 865-719-6765 slawhorn@blounttn.org 8-A Brad Bowers 865-659-7711 bbowers@blounttn.org 8-B Jeff Jopling 865-719-9480 jjopling@blounttn.org 9-A Ron French 865-577-8393 rfrench@blounttn.org 9-B Steve Mikels 865-755-6958 smikels@blounttn.org 10-A Linda Webb 865-389-0541 lwebb@blounttn.org 10-B David Wells 865-221-7603 dwells@blounttn.org

Thursday, November 21, 2024

6:00 PM

Blount County Courthouse, Room 430

### SPECIAL CALLED

## Live stream via https://zoom.us/join Zoom Meeting ID: 860 7116 4541

### **ROLL CALL**

BE IT REMEMBERED, that the Blount County Board of Commissioners met in special called session on Thursday, November 21, 2024, at 6:00 p.m. in the Blount County Courthouse of Maryville, Tennessee. Blount County Commission Chairman Jared Anderson called the meeting to order. An electronic roll call was taken by Blount County Clerk Gaye Hasty. There were 20 members present, with the late arrival of Mike Akard, and 0 absent. The Chairman declared that a quorum was present. The following proceedings were held, to wit:

Present: 20 - Commissioner Mike Akard, Chairperson Jared Anderson, Commissioner Robbie Bennett, Commissioner Dyran Bledsoe, Commissioner Brad Bowers, Vice Chair Nick Bright, Commissioner Richard Carver, Commissioner Mike Caylor, Commissioner Misty Davis, Commissioner Ron French, Commissioner John Giles, Commissioner Jessica Hannah, Commissioner Jeff Jopling, Commissioner Scott King, Commissioner Staci Martin, Commissioner Earl McMahan, Commissioner Steve Mikels, Commissioner Dawn Reagan, Commissioner Linda Webb, and Commissioner David Wells A. In accordance with the authority vested in me, Jared Anderson, Chairman of Blount County Commission, by Tennessee Code Annotated 5-5-111, notice is hereby given that the County Legislative Body of Blount County will meet to fill the vacancies in the office of Blount County Circuit Court Clerk caused by the resignation of the Honorable Tom Hatcher, who was elected to serve as representative of Tennessee Senate Seat District 2; and vacancy of Blount County Commission District 7 Seat A caused by the resignation of the Honorable Tom Stinnett who was elected to serve as Representative of Tennessee House District 20.

> Attachments: NOTICE OF MEETING TO FILL VACANCIES OF COURT CLERK AND COMMISSION SEAT 7A

> > The Chairman recognized the Clerk to read the call out loud.

### 1. <u>Blount County Circuit Court Clerk.</u>

Attachments: Resignation of Circuit Court Clerk Tom Hatcher

The Chairman recognized the Clerk to read out loud the resignation letter of Circuit Court Clerk Tom Hatcher.

The Chairman stated that two names had been received in writing for the nomination to fill the vacancy in the office of the Blount County Circuit Court Clerk, Robert Simerly and Chris Cantrell. The Chairman asked the audience if there were any registered voters present who wished to submit a name to the chair for the consideration to fill the vacancy of the Blount County Circuit Court Clerk. There was no response.

The Chairman opened the floor to the members of the Blount County Legislative Body for nominations of the Blount County Circuit Court Clerk. Commissioner King nominated Chris Cantrell. The Chairman asked if there were any additional nominations. Commissioner Martin nominated Robert Simerly. The Chairman asked if there were any additional nominations. There were none. A motion was made by Commissioner King, seconded by Commissioner French, that nominations cease. The Chairman asked if there was any objection to the motion to cease nominations. There was none. Hearing no objection, the Chairman declared the floor closed for nominations.

The Chairman asked that a roll call vote be taken on the nominations. A roll call vote was taken by the Clerk for the appointment to fill the vacancy in the office of the Blount County Circuit Court Clerk.

To appoint Robert Simerly: 3 - Bowers, Martin, and Reagan.

To appoint Chris Cantrell: 17 - Akard, Anderson, Bennett, Bledsoe, Bright, Carver, Caylor, Davis, French, Giles, Hannah, Jopling, King, McMahan, Mikels, Webb, and Wells.

The Clerk reported there to be 3 votes for Robert Simerly and 17 votes for Chris Cantrell. The Chairman declared Chris Cantrell to be appointed as the Blount County Circuit Court Clerk.

#### 2. <u>Blount County Commission District 7 Seat A.</u>

#### Attachments: Resignation of Commissioner Tom Stinnett

The Chairman stated that a name had been received in writing prior to the meeting for the nomination to fill the vacancy in the Blount County Commission District 7, Seat A, Jasmine Satterfield. The Chairman asked the audience if there were any registered voters present who wished to submit a name to the chair for nomination. There was no response.

The Chairman recognized the Clerk to read out loud the resignation letter of Commissioner Tom Stinnett.

The Chairman opened the floor to the members of the Blount County Legislative Body for nominations. Commissioner Martin nominated Quentin Caldwell. Commissioner Bowers nominated Roger Fields. Commissioner Hannah nominated Jasmine Satterfield. The Chairman asked if there were any additional nominations. There were none. A motion was made by Commissioner Mikels that nominations cease. The Chairman asked if there was any objection to the motion to cease nominations. There was none. Hearing no objection, the Chairman declared the floor closed for nominations.

The Chairman asked that a roll call vote be taken on the nominations. A roll call vote was taken by the County Clerk for the appointment to fill the vacancy in Commission District 7, seat A.

To appoint Quentin Caldwell: 8 - Calyor, Giles, King, Martin, McMahan, Reagan, Webb, and Wells.

To appoint Roger Fields: 4 - Bennett, Bledsoe, Bowers, and French.

To appoint Jasmine Satterfield: 8 - Akard, Anderson, Bright, Carver, Davis, Hannah, Jopling, and Mikels.

The Clerk reported there to be 8 votes for Quentin Caldwell, 4 votes for Roger Fields, and 8 votes for Jasmine Satterfield. The Chairman declared that a roll call vote be taken for the nominations of Quentin Caldwell and Jasmine Satterfield. A roll call vote was taken by the Clerk for the appointment to fill the vacancy in Commission District 7, seat A.

To appoint Quentin Caldwell: 12 - Bennett, Bledsoe, Bowers, Caylor, French, Giles, King, Martin, McMahan, Reagan, Webb, and Wells.

To appoint Jasmine Satterfield: 8 - Akard, Anderson, Bright, Carver, Davis, Hannah, Jopling, and Mikels.

The Clerk reported there to be 12 votes for Quentin Caldwell, and 8 votes for Jasmine Satterfield. The Chairman declared Quentin Caldwell to be appointed to the Blount County Commission District 7, Seat A.

## ADJOURNMENT

Prior to adjourning, the oaths of office were performed by the County Clerk to Circuit Court Clerk Chris Cantrell, and Commissioner of District 7, Seat A, Quentin Caldwell.

A motion was made that the meeting be adjourned. The Chairman declared the meeting to be adjourned. The special called meeting of the Blount County Board of Commissioners adjourned on Thursday, November 21, 2024, at 7:00 p.m.