

# **Blount County Government**

359 Court Street Maryville, TN 37804-5906

## **Meeting Minutes - Draft**

# **Board of Zoning Appeals**

Chairperson Larry Chesney Secretary Bruce Damrow Board Member Joe Everett Board Member Stanley Headrick Board Member Brian King Alternate John Rush

Thursday, September 1, 2022

6:00 PM

**Blount County Courthouse, Room 430** 

Live stream via https://zoom.us/join Zoom Meeting ID: 844 5161 7667

### I. Call To Order

#### II. Rollcall

**Present** 3 - Secretary Bruce Damrow, Board Member Joe Everett, and Board Member Stanley Headrick

Absent 3 - Chairperson Larry Chesney, Board Member Brian King, and Alternate John Rush

#### III. Election of Chairperson

A motion was made by Board Member Everett, seconded by Board Member Headrick, to appoint Bruce Damrow as chairperson for this evening's meeting. An electronic vote was taken. Motion passed by the following vote:

Yes: 2 - Everett, and Headrick

**No:** 0

Absent: 2 - Chesney, and King

Abstain: 1 - Damrow

### IV. Approval of Minutes

Draft - BZA Minutes 8/4/22

Attachments: DRAFT - BZA Minutes 8-4-22

A motion was made Board Member Everett, seconded by Board Member Headrick to approve the August 2022 minutes. An electronic vote was taken. The Chairman declared the motion to have passed by the following vote:

Yes: 3 - Damrow, Everett, and Headrick

**No**: 0

Absent: 2 - Chesney, and King

Abstain: 0

## V. Variance Request: None

### VI. Special Exception

#### 1. 2803 Morganton Road.

Attachments: Memo Special Exception 2803 Morganton Rd-9-1-22

David Flynn spoke regarding his intentions for the special exception to change the existing non-conforming status of the property from a landscaping business to renting part of the building for a pest control business. No one spoke against the item. Members and staff discussed in detail the change in use.

A motion was made by Board Member Headrick, seconded by Board Member Everett, to approve the special request for 2803 Morganton Road having met all requirements for Section 11.5. An electronic vote was taken. The Chairman declared the motion to have passed by the following vote:

Yes: 3 - Damrow, Everett, and Headrick

**No:** 0

Absent: 2 - Chesney, and King

Abstain: 0

VII. Appeals: None

VIII. Adjournment.