RESOLUTION NO. 18-04-014

Sponsored by Commissioners Dodd Crowe, Tom Cole, Mike Lewis, Mike Akard, and Rick Carver

A PROCLAMATION RECOGNIZING THE STAFF OF ALNWICK COMMUNITY CLUB FOR THEIR SELFLESS DEDICATION AND SERVICE TO THE COMMUNITY CENTER.

- WHEREAS, Alnwick Community Club was organized on June 10th, 1985, as a State Chartered not-for-profit public service corporation and obtained the former Alnwick School on August 9th, 1985, for recreational and community use; and
- WHEREAS, The community club founders immediately organized a youth basketball program that has operated continuously until today as a volunteer-managed program without any public funds. All operating expenses have been covered by registration fees, concession sales, and contributions from members of the community; and
- WHEREAS, During those many years, more than 3,000 youth in our community and some from surrounding counties have participated in the Alnwick Youth Basketball program, and many have returned to help coach or to bring their children to play; and
- WHEREAS, The focus of the basketball program is to provide children with a structured environment for developing personal skills, team spirit, sportsmanship, and leadership as well as providing opportunities for family involvement; and
- WHEREAS, If not for all of the volunteer services and dedication to Alnwick Community Club's Youth basketball program, it would not be where it is today. A special thanks to Sharon and Ronnie Howard for their 29 years dedication. Also, to Jeffery and Tiffany Wilburn for their combined 32 years of volunteer service and dedication.
- **NOW, THEREFORE,** We, Ed Mitchell Mayor of Blount County, Tennessee, and the Blount County Board of Commissioners, assembled in regular session this 19th day of April, 2018, do hereby proclaim the recognition and give appreciation to all the staff of Alnwick Community Club. Their selfless dedication and service to the Community Center is to be commended.

CERTIFICATION OF ACTION:

ATTEST:

Commission Chairman

County Clerk

Approved: _____ Vetoed: _____

County Mayor