

Blount County Government

Meeting Minutes - Final

Board of Commissioners

1-A Jessica Hannah 865-978-7049 jhannah@blounttn.org 1-B Earl McMahan 865-216-3160 emcmahan@blounttn.org 2-A Mike Akard 865-982-6369 makard@blounttn.org 2-B Dyran Bledsoe 865-806-7091 dbledsoe@blounttn.org 3-A Scott King 865-455-7335 sking@blounttn.org 3-B Mike Caylor 865-323-3143 mcaylor@blounttn.org 4-A Robbie Bennett 865-806-8869 rbennett@blounttn.org 4-B Dawn Reagan 865-437-7262 dreagan@blounttn.org 4-C John Giles 865-250-0438 jgiles@blounttn.org 5-A Jared Anderson 865-272-9455 janderson@blounttn.org 5-B Rick Carver 865-964-9945 rcarver@blounttn.org 6-A Nick Bright 865-254-0637 nbright@blounttn.org 6-B Misty Davis 865-363-1001 mddavis@blounttn.org 7-A Tom Stinnett 865-310-8606 tstinnett@blounttn.org 7-B Staci Lawhorn 865-719-6765 slawhorn@blounttn.org 8-A Brad Bowers 865-659-7711 bbowers@blounttn.org 8-B Jeff Jopling 865-719-9480 jjopling@blounttn.org 9-A Ron French 865-577-8393 rfrench@blounttn.org 9-B Steve Mikels 865-755-6958 smikels@blounttn.org 10-A Linda Webb 865-389-0541 lwebb@blounttn.org 10-B David Wells 865-221-7603 dwells@blounttn.org

Tuesday, November 29, 2022

5:00 PM

Blount County Courthouse, Room 430

SPECIAL CALLED

Live stream via https://zoom.us/join Zoom Meeting ID: 815 1516 1694

ROLL CALL

BE IT REMEMBERED, that the Blount County Board of Commissioners met in special called session on Tuesday, November 29, 2022, at 5:00 p.m. in the Blount County Courthouse of Maryville, Tennessee. Blount County Commission Chairman Jared Anderson called the meeting to order. An electronic roll call was taken by Blount County Deputy Clerk Lauri Bell. There were 18 members present, 3 absent. The Chairman declared that a quorum was present. The following proceedings were held, to wit:

- Present: 18 Commissioner Mike Akard, Chairperson Jared Anderson, Commissioner Robbie Bennett, Commissioner Dyran Bledsoe, Commissioner Brad Bowers, Commissioner Nick Bright, Commissioner Mike Caylor, Commissioner Misty Davis, Vice Chair Ron French, Commissioner John Giles, Commissioner Jessica Hannah, Commissioner Jeff Jopling, Commissioner Scott King, Commissioner Steve Mikels, Commissioner Dawn Reagan, Commissioner Tom Stinnett, Commissioner Linda Webb, and Commissioner David Wells
- Absent: 3 Commissioner Richard Carver, Commissioner Staci Lawhorn, and Commissioner Earl McMahan

A. <u>I, Mayor Ed Mitchell, pursuant to and in accordance with the authority vested in me by</u> <u>Tennessee Code Annotated § 5-5-105, hereby call a special meeting of the Board of</u> <u>County Commissioners of Blount County, Tennessee (the "County"), for the following</u> purposes:

Attachments: PUBLIC NOTICE - Special Called Meeting 11.29.22 re BMH (1)

The Chairman called on the Deputy Clerk to read the call out loud. The Chairman recognized Blount County Attorney Craig Garrett to brief the commissioners on the topic at hand. The Chairman allowed the public to comment on items on the agenda.

1. <u>To consider Resolution 22-11-022 to Address the Operation of Blount Memorial Hospital</u> and to Restructure the Board of Directors of Blount Memorial Hospital, Inc.

Attachments: Resolution to Address the Operation of BMH

County Attorney Memo and BMH History Packet 2022

A motion was made by Commissioner Akard, seconded by Commissioner King, that the Resolution be adopted.

Commissioner King called for the question. The Chairman declared the motion to have failed due to the lack of a second.

An electronic vote was taken on the motion that the Resolution be adopted. The Chairman declared the motion to have passed by the following vote:

- Yes: 11 Akard, Anderson, Bowers, Bright, Caylor, Davis, Hannah, Jopling, King, Webb, and Wells
- No: 6 Bennett, Bledsoe, French, Giles, Mikels, and Stinnett
- Absent: 4 Carver, Lawhorn, McMahan, and Reagan
- Abstain: 0

2. <u>To consider Resolution 22-11-023 to Approve Charter Amendment of Blount Memorial</u> <u>Hospital, Inc. to remove Nominating Committee.</u>

Attachments: Resolution to Approve Charter Amendment of BMH

Exhibit A - BMH amendment to charter

A motion was made by Commissioner King, seconded by Commissioner Bright, that the Resolution be adopted. An electronic vote was taken. The Chairman declared the motion to have failed by the following vote:

- Yes: 8 Akard, Anderson, Bowers, Bright, Caylor, Davis, Hannah, and Jopling
- No: 8 Bennett, Bledsoe, French, Giles, Mikels, Stinnett, Webb, and Wells
- Absent: 5 Carver, King, Lawhorn, McMahan, and Reagan
- Abstain: 0

3. <u>Blount Memorial Hospital Board of Directors (3-Year Term) Appointments - Mary Beth</u> West, Susanne Davis, Dr. Allan Romans, Christi Sayles.

Attachments: Memo to Commissioners re BMH Board Appointments 11.21.22

Mary Beth West Resume

Susanne Davis Resume

<u>Dr. Allan Romans Resume</u>

Christi Sayles Resume 2022

The Chairman declared the appointments would be considered individually.

A motion was made by Commissioner Akard, seconded by Commissioner Bright, that the appointment of Mary Beth West be approved.

The Chairman recognized the County Attorney who explained that due to the previous item failing that this was a moot point.

A motion was made by Commissioner Mikels, seconded by Commissioner Stinnett, that the meeting be adjourned. An electronic vote was taken. The Chairman declared the motion to have passed by the following vote:

- Yes: 14 Akard, Anderson, Bennett, Bledsoe, Bright, Caylor, Davis, Giles, Hannah, Jopling, Mikels, Stinnett, Webb, and Wells
- No: 2 Bowers, and French
- Absent: 5 Carver, King, Lawhorn, McMahan, and Reagan

Abstain: 0

ADJOURNMENT

The special called meeting of the Blount County Board of Commissioners adjourned on Tuesday, November 29, 2022, at 8:08 p.m.