

Meeting Minutes

Board of Commissioners

Friday, December 1, 2017		12:15 PM	Blount County Courthouse, Room 430
Special Called Meeting			
ROLL CALL			
	BE IT REMEMBERED, that the Blount County Board of Commissioners met in special session on Friday, December 1, 2017, at 12:15 p.m., in Room 430, at the Blount County Courthouse in Maryville, Tennessee. Blount County Commission Chairman Jerome Moon called the meeting to order. An electronic roll call was taken by Gaye Hasty, Blount County Clerk. There were 17 present and 4 absent. Chairman Moon declared a quorum to exist. The following proceedings were held, to-wit:		
Present:	17 -	Commissioner Andy Allen, Commissioner Archie Bennett, Commissioner Shawn Carter Sr., Comr Chair Grady Caskey, Commissioner Mike Caylo Commissioner Gary Farmer, Commissioner Ror Lewis, Commissioner Kenneth Melton, Commiss Tona Monroe, Chairperson Jerome Moon, Comr Commissioner Tom Stinnett	missioner Richard Carver, Vice r, Commissioner Dodd Crowe, n French, Commissioner Mike sioner Karen Miller, Commissioner
Absent:	4 -	Commissioner Mike Akard, Commissioner Brad Cole, and Commissioner Jamie Daly	Bowers, Commissioner Thomas
A. ELECTIONS.			

1. In accordance with the authority vested in me by Tennessee Code Annotated § 5-5-111, notice is hereby given that the County Legislative Body of Blount County will meet on Friday, December 1, 2017, at 12:15 PM in Room 430 of the Blount County Courthouse in Maryville, Tennessee to fill the vacancy in the office of Tennessee State Senate seat District 2 caused by the resignation of J. Douglas Overbey. Before the county legislative body votes or considers any motion or resolution regarding the office to be filled, the chair shall allow registered voters of the county an opportunity to submit names to the county legislative body for consideration. The names may be submitted in writing to the chair prior to the meeting or may be submitted in person at the meeting. In order for a name to be considered, a member of the county legislative body must subsequently nominate the person. Members of the county legislative body may also nominate a candidate or candidates to fill the office or vacancy without the name being submitted by a voter. Nominations do not require a second. If the person nominated is not present at the meeting, the person making the nomination shall submit a signed statement from the nominee that the nominee is willing to serve in the office if appointed.

Chairman Moon stated the Chair had received two names in writing for the nomination to fill the vacancy in the office of Tennessee State Senate seat

District 2, Scott Williams and Scott Walker. Chairman Moon asked the audience if Scott Williams was present. Scott Williams acknowledged his presence and consent to be nominated. There was no response when Chairman Moon asked the audience if Scott Walker was present or if someone had a signed letter of consent from Mr. Walker. Chairman Moon asked the audience if there were any registered voters who wished to submit a name to the Chair for nomination. There was no response. Chairman Moon asked again if a registered voter would desire to submit a name to the Chair. There was no response. Chairman Moon opened the floor to the members of the Blount County Legislative Body for nominations. Commissioner Carver nominated Art Swann for the appointment to the office of Tennessee State Senate seat District 2. Commissioner Monroe nominated Scott Williams for the appointment to the office of Tennessee State Senate seat District 2. Chairman Moon asked if there were any additional nominations. There were none. Commissioner French made a motion to close nominations. Commissioner Bennett seconded the motion. A voice vote was taken with Chairman Moon declaring the motion passed and nominations closed. A roll call vote was taken by the County Clerk for the appointment to fill the vacancy in the office of Tennessee State Senate seat District 2.

To appoint Swann: Commissioners Allen, Bennett, Carter, Carver, Caskey, Caylor, Crowe, Farmer, French, King, Lewis, Melton, Moon and Stinnett (14).

To appoint Williams: Commissioners Archer, Miller and Monroe (3).

Commissioners absent: Akard, Bowers, Cole and Daly (4).

The County Clerk reported there to be 14 votes for Art Swann and 3 votes for Scott Williams. Chairman Moon declared Art Swann appointed to the Tennessee State Senate seat District 2.

B. ADJOURNMENT.

Chairman Moon declared the meeting adjourned. The Blount County Board of Commissioners Special Called Meeting adjourned on December 1, 2017, at 12:22 p.m.