

Blount County

359 Court Street Maryville, TN 37804-5906

Meeting Minutes

Board of Commissioners

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

5:45 PM

Blount County Courthouse, Room 430

Special Called Meeting

ROLL CALL

BE IT REMEMBERED, that the Blount County Board of Commissioners met in special session on Tuesday, December 12, 2017 at 5:45 p.m. in Room 430 at the Blount County Courthouse in Maryville, Tennessee. Blount County Commission Chairman Jerome Moon called the meeting to order. The roll call was taken by Gaye Hasty, Blount County Clerk. There were 20 present and 1 absent. Chairman Moon declared a quorum to exist. The following proceedings were held, to wit:

Present: 20 - Commissioner Andy Allen, Commissioner Archie Archer, Commissioner Dave Bennett, Commissioner Brad Bowers, Commissioner Shawn Carter Sr., Commissioner Richard Carver, Vice Chair Grady Caskey, Commissioner Mike Caylor, Commissioner Thomas Cole, Commissioner Dodd Crowe, Commissioner Jamie Daly, Commissioner Gary Farmer, Commissioner Ron French, Commissioner Mike Lewis, Commissioner Kenneth Melton, Commissioner Karen Miller,

Commissioner Tona Monroe, Chairperson Jerome Moon, Commissioner Scott King,

and Commissioner Tom Stinnett

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Mike Akard

A. ELECTIONS.

1. I, Mayor Ed Mitchell, pursuant to and in accordance with the authority vested in me by Tennessee Code Annotated § 5-5-105 AND § 5-5-111, hereby call the Board of County Commissioners of Blount County, Tennessee, for a called meeting on the 12th day of December, 2017, 5:45P.M. for the following: 1. To fill the vacancy in the Tennessee House of Representatives District 8, due to the resignation of Art Swann. Before the county legislative body votes or considers any motion or resolution regarding the office to be filled, the chair shall allow registered voters of the county an opportunity to submit names to the county legislative body for consideration. The names may be submitted in writing to the chair prior to the meeting or may be submitted in person at the meeting. In order for a name to be considered, a member of the county legislative body must subsequently nominate the person. Members of the county legislative body may also nominate a candidate or candidates to fill the office or vacancy without the name being submitted by a voter. Nominations do not require a second. If the person nominated is not present at the meeting, the person making the nomination shall submit a signed statement from the nominee that the nominee is willing to serve in the office if appointed.

Page 1

Attachments: Public Notice Special Called Meeting 12-12-17.pdf

Resignation Letter of Art Swann.pdf

Chairman Moon stated the Chair had received no names in writing for the nomination to fill the vacancy in the office of Tennessee House of Representatives District 8. Chairman Moon asked the audience if there were any registered voters who wished to submit a name to the Chair for nomination. There was no response. Chairman Moon asked again if a registered voter would desire to submit a name to the Chair. There was no response. Chairman Moon opened the floor to the members of the Blount County Legislative Body for nominations. Commissioner Monroe nominated Jim Hammontree for the appointment to the office of Tennessee House of Representatives District 8. Commissioner Bennett nominated Jerome Moon for the appointment to the office of Tennessee House of Representatives District 8. Chairman Moon presented the County Clerk a signed letter of resignation from the Blount County Board of Commissioners District 4 Seat C, and requested the Chairman Pro Tempore, Grady Caskey, to continue the proceedings of the meeting. Chairman Pro Tempore Caskey asked if there were any additional nominations. There were none. Commissioner French made a motion to close nominations. Commissioner Farmer seconded the motion. A voice vote was taken with Chairman Pro Tempore Caskey declaring the motion passed and nominations closed. A roll call vote was taken by the County Clerk for the appointment to fill the vacancy in the office of Tennessee House of Representatives District 8.

To appoint Hammontree: Commissioners Daly, Miller and Monroe (3).

To appoint Moon: Commissioners Allen, Archer, Bennett, Bowers, Carter, Carver, Caskey, Caylor, Cole, Crowe, Farmer, French, King, Lewis, Melton and Stinnett (16).

Commissioners absent: Akard (1).

The County Clerk reported there to be 3 votes for Jim Hammontree and 16 votes for Jerome Moon. Chairman Pro Tempore Caskey declared Jerome Moon appointed to the Tennessee House of Representatives District 8.

B. ADJOURNMENT.

Chairman Pro Tempore Caskey declared the meeting adjourned. The Blount County Board of Commissioners Special Called Meeting adjourned on December 12, 2017, at 5:51 p.m.